top of page

Announcing 2019 Champions

2019 Champions Will Receive a Trophy Like This

2019 Monoposto season ended at the Circuit of the Americas and champions have been crowned in eight classes. They are as follows:

  • Formula Junior – Doug Elcomb

  • Formula Vee – Arnie Carbaugh

  • Historic Formula Ford – Dan Cowdrey

  • Club Ford – Mark Clark

  • Formula B – Travis Engen

  • Formula Atlantic – Josh Boller

  • F5000 – Mike Winn

  • Indy Lights – Travis Engen

Some of these champions are first-time winners and others have won in previous years. While it's wonderful to celebrate these champions it's worth noting that in three of our classes no driver participated enough to be crowned a champion. The Monoposto announcement the 2020 schedule will be a good opportunity to set your racing plans for next year. Remember that drivers need to have participated in three race weekends so planning ahead can yield real benefits.

The 2020 Monoposto schedule will be set shortly after we are able to secure the schedules for each of the sanctioning organizers on which we usually base our event selections. In addition to participation levels and choosing events that reflect the locations of our members, for the last few years we have been trying to have all of our championship classes compete at all of our events. (This seems to really build participation and camaraderie.) Please email me if you have suggestions for the 2020 schedule.

Finally, it's time to get busy preparing your car and equipment for 2020. Seat belts and HANS devices have finite certification periods and 2020 is another 5 year Snell Foundation helmet certification milestone so pay particular attention to these safety items.

Travis Engen

President, Monoposto Racing

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page